Worship music I’ve been listening to…

So it’s been a while since I have been in the Christian worship scene… about 10 years ago, stuff started getting funky about the whole worship “genre”, and me simultaneously going through a cynical season for several years kind of made me stop listening to worship music. Yes, it’s sad. Recently, God’s been convicting me to love worship again, which isn’t easy, but is something I continually press into.

On the way, there have been a couple of albums that have really helped me love worship again and have been on repeat the last several months. I thought it’d be good to share 🙂

Darryl Evans- Freedom

Ah this album has recently made a comeback on my playlist. This is what I used to listen to in Jr. High. I forgot how good this album is, and it’s been so good :).

Jesus Culture- Come Away

Been really tired of “trendy-vangelical” worship, which basically tries to duplicate old Vineyard and Hillsongs without the Holy Spirit… and turns into a weird U2 concert at church (or weird hipster-folk-bob-dylanesque stuff). For that reason, Jesus Culture, bethel, etc. has become extremely refreshing for me. Good musicianship combined with some ridiculous passion for the Holy Spirit. Love this album, and most everything else that comes from them at the moment.

William Mcdowell- As We Worship Live

While the last several years, it’s been hard for me to sit in evangelical worship, Gospel has kept my worship life alive. Just the musical quality/excellence combined with just really good spontanaeity and Holy Spirit… It is SO GOOD. I’m so glad God has taken me out of my previous cultural experience of worship and introduced me to gospel culture. Anyways, there’s a lot of gospel I’m listening to, but this album is the latest one I’ve been listening to. Highly recommended.

Will Reagan and United Pursuit Band- Live at the Banks house

Just recently started listening to this one, and I haven’t been able to stop listening to it for the last 1.5 weeks. It really reminds me of when I first started to experience God in worship during Jr. High and the simple, raw and sweet times I had as I first started learning how to worship on the piano and guitar and the passion God grew in me during that season. This one, like the others, is highly recommended :).

Those are the recent 4. Anybody have any other recommendations?

One thought on “Worship music I’ve been listening to…

Leave a Reply

