A life without iPhone

It was scary. I stared at the dark glass and chrome sided rectangle with a mixture of sadness, despair, and potential freedom. It no longer had network signal. I could not incessantly check my email, twitter and facebook, and occasionally (more like addictively) play a game of Tiny Wings, Fruit Ninja or Words With Friends. What had I done? My life of technological freedom was all of a sudden no more with a few clicks by an ATT representative.

Already, my life feels different. Last night, I was at a social gathering, and I realized how much I relied on my phone to carry me through the awkwardness of social interaction. It wasn’t that the gathering itself was awkward or anything (in fact, I hurt my stomach from laughing too hard). It was those social pauses between jokes, it was those places of idleness. So often my phone was used as a way of leaning away from that place of silence and idleness… But I was now forced to lean in to those situations and found myself extremely inept at being in those places… I actually had to start conversations.

I took the long walk back to my car thinking about how uncomfortable I felt without an escape from the idleness, and I realized I didn’t know what to do with myself as I walked home. Again, there was nothing to check, no electronic glow to accompany my solo walk.

And then I noticed the trees rustling in the wind, something I had not taken note of for a while.

Perhaps the silence is not something to escape.

2 thoughts on “A life without iPhone

  1. Alex says:

    You might not be perfect, but if there is one thing an IV staff worker is not, it is “extremely inept at being in those places… actually [having] to start conversations.” There are people who are actually “extremely inept” at the “place of silence and idleness,” and most of those have not received extensive training on what to do with those situations.

  2. Oscar says:

    You know, Daniel, there’s a little monastery in north Oceanside that offers weekend retreats from the digital world, a time of silence, meditation and self contemplation, a time to get back in touch with the same God and creator that inspired the apostles to literally give their lives for the sake of others and in service to their Lord. You’ve taken one small step back in that direction.

    See you at church (if you get up in time, haha!)

Leave a Reply

